Skip navigation

You are here: Homepage > Press Room > Press Releases 2009 > Ministry/Portfolio Re-assignments

Published 29th May 2009, 12:10pm

Ministers of Government and Chief Officers took up office today (Friday 29 May) with their newly-assigned responsibilities, as agreed by His Excellency the Governor Mr Stuart Jack, CVO.

In addition to serving as Leader of Government Business, the Hon. McKeeva Bush is Minister of Financial Services, Tourism and Development. Chief Officer for Tourism and Development is Mr Carson Ebanks, while an additional Chief Officer will be appointed to deal with Financial Services.

This Ministry has responsibility for Tourism, Planning, Financial Services, Fire, Public Transport, e-Business, the Cayman Islands Investment Bureau, the London Office, and Liquor Licensing.

The Hon. Rolston Anglin is Minister for Education, Training and Employment and the Chief Officer for this Ministry is Ms Mary Rodrigues. The Ministry is responsible for Education Services, Employment Services, National Pensions, Educational Standards and Assessment, the Sunrise Adult Training Centre, Public Libraries, and the National Archive.

The Minister for District Administration, Works and Gender Affairs is the Hon. Julianna O'Connor-Connolly. Chief Officer for this Ministry is Mr Kearney Gomez.

This Ministry encompasses District Administration, Agriculture, Lands and Survey, the Mosquito Research and Control Unit, Petroleum Inspectorate, Public Works, Postal Services, Vehicle and Drivers Licensing, Vehicle and Equipment Services, Environmental Health, Recreation Parks and Cemeteries, Telecommunications, Gender Affairs, the National Weather Service, and Sister Islands Sports.

The Hon. Mike Adam is Minister of Community Affairs and Housing. The Acting Chief Officer for this Ministry is Mr Leonard Dilbert; this position will be advertised and filled on a permanent basis.

This Ministry is responsible for Children and Family Services, Community Development, Family and Adult Services and Counselling Services, as well as Housing Development.

The Hon. Mark Scotland has responsibility for the Ministry of Health, Environment, and Youth, Sports and Culture. The Acting Chief Officer for this Ministry is Ms Jennifer Ahearn. Again, this position will be advertised and filled on a permanent basis.

This Ministry encompasses Health Services, Health Regulatory Services, Environment, Youth Services, Sports, Public Health, and the Cadet Corps.

The Chief Officer for the Portfolio of the Civil Service is Ms Gloria McField-Nixon.